Rotondes – De Gudde Wëllen – Kasemattentheater

Every month we present you 3 of our cultural partners.
The shows we announce here are always from the following month and accessible with your Kulturpass.

As their name suggests, the Rotondes are two circular buildings. With a diameter of 52 metres each, they were built in 1875 as a shed and workshop for steam locomotives. They then had several lives... 

After the 2World War, the Rotondes were used as storage space (Rotunda 1) and as a repair shop for CFL buses (Rotunda 2). Many years later, on the 10the October 2006, the last bus left Rotondes 2, which was quickly brought into line with what was to become, two months later, the epicentre 

of Luxembourg and Greater Region European Capital of Culture 2007.Throughout 2007, cultural events organised by the General Coordination bring the Rotondes to life and constitute a first successful attempt at their new use.

The evolution of the cultural programming of RotondesThe public's demand, the possibilities of offering projects for young audiences and families, as well as alternative and multidisciplinary projects, served as a basis for reflection for a second, definitive phase of the project. Based on these considerations, a general concept was formulated which integrates the rehabilitation of Rotonde 2 and the forecourt and takes into account the needs for optimisation of the site (storage areas, final restoration, reception, etc.). The feasibility study was carried out, and in 2020 the project entered a new stage known as the preliminary design stage, which should be completed by the end of 2021. 

Photo by Ruben Dos Santos 

Mar 28.12.2021
15:00 & 17:00
CURIEUSE NATURE / DROLEG NATUR
Rotondes & Luxembourg City Film Festival (LU)

Cine-concert
From 6 years on
Duration : 45’
Space: Grande Salle
Language: wordless

There is a lot of lightness and irony in the three animated shorts selected for this co-production of Les Rotondes and the Luxembourg City Film Festival.

In a nature that never ceases to impress, tou∙te∙s protagonists forge new bonds of friendship and deploy treasures of inventiveness. This inventiveness is also reflected in the musical universe constructed from bits and pieces by Florence Kraus and Grégoire Terrier to accompany the images. If the films on the screen are (almost) silent, the atmosphere in the room is exuberant!

« Klangvolles Erlebnis (…) Die Augen schwanken zwischen der Leinwand und den Musikern Florence Kraus und Grégoire Terrier hin und her, weil einfach beides sowohl mit der Sicht als auch mit dem Gehör genossen werden muss. »  Lëtzebuerger Journal, 07.03.2020

More information and reservations on: www.rotondes.lu

Located in a discrete spot of the small-scale rue du Saint Esprit, De Gudde Wëllen is a 'one size fits all' venue that opened its doors in December 2014.
Some of the highlights included Khruangbin, Fontaines D.C., The Soft Moon, Sophia, Moon Duo, Masta Ace, Busy P, TOPS, Sinkane, Operators, This Is The Kit and more. Whether you favor craft brews, funky cocktails or tasty indie shows, this is the kind of place that begs you to stick for another round.

Wednsday the 15.12.2021
VAAGUE (BE)
Concert- electro synth jazz

Doors : 20:00
Show:  21:00

Surrounded by his own unique android of drums and electronics, Antoine Pierre is widening his already broad musical spectrum quite a bit with VAAGUE.  

For this brand new solo project, the Brussels based drummer and producer created a collection of samples to fuse organically — and manually! — with his own drum grooves. From pulsating synths over otherworldly vocal snippets to dark and dreamy droplets of sound: each electronic element is blending in perfectly with Antoine’s live played beats.

Bookings and information on : www.deguddewellen.lu

In 1964, the Kasemattentheater was founded under its official name "Centre Grand-Ducal d'Art Dramatique" a.s.b.l.. In Luxembourg, which until then had been rather sleepy in terms of theatre, the founder Tun Deutsch (1932-1977) envisioned an avant-garde theatrical creation that would attract not only the interested bourgeoisie, but a whole new audience in a new venue. Since the 2008/2009 season, the Kasemattentheater has developed a new dynamic and has since presented the public with a complete season programme. Today more than ever, the Kasemattentheater focuses on mostly modern, German-language plays in the form of innovative productions.

Friday 17.12.2021
Carte Blanche MICHEL REIS

Concert
At 8 pm at the Kasemattentheater

Le Théâtre des Casemates (Kasemattentheater) is giving the jazz pianist and composer Michel Reis (born 1982) a carte blanche for one evening this year - just before Christmas, before our ears and brains are all too drugged up with Christmas music. Michel Reis studied in Boston and lived in New York and now mostly in Luxembourg (when he is not on one of his numerous tours). Michel Reis has released 12 albums under his own name so far, in Luxembourg but also on American labels. For a young pianist, he has received astonishing praise: "a tremendous pianist" (Down Beat), "a storyteller" (AllAboutJazz), "his place in the realm of jazz pianists is assured" (JazzReview), one could read. 

The multifaceted musician, who has often accompanied readings in the Kasemattentheater, determines the programme for a unique concert, supported by friends and companions. He will be able to show the whole range of his creative and musical skills.

This musical evening is suitable for blind and visually impaired people. ticket@kasemattentheater.lu                                                                                                                                                                                                                   www.kasemattentheater.lu

Share this article

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on google
Share on linkedin
Share on email

Rotondes – De Gudde Wëllen – Kasemattentheater

Nous vous présentons chaque mois, 3 de nos partenaires culturels.
Les spectacles que nous vous annonçons ici sont toujours du mois suivant et accessibles avec votre Kulturpass.

Comme leur nom l’indique, les Rotondes sont deux édifices circulaires. D’un diamètre de 52 mètres chacune, elles ont été construites en 1875 pour servir de remise et d’atelier pour les locomotives à vapeur. Elles ont ensuite connu plusieurs vies… 

Après la 2Guerre mondiale, les Rotondes sont utilisées comme espace de stockage (Rotonde 1) et comme atelier de réparation des bus des CFL (Rotonde 2). De nombreuses années plus tard, le 10 octobre 2006, le dernier bus quitte la Rotonde 2. Celle-ci est rapidement mise en conformité afin de l’englober dans ce qui sera, deux mois plus tard, l’épicentre 

de Luxembourg et Grande Région capitale européenne de la culture 2007. Durant toute l’année 2007, des manifestations culturelles organisées par la coordination générale font vivre les Rotondes et constituent un premier essai réussi de leur nouvelle réaffectation.

L’évolution de la programmation culturelle des Rotondes, la demande du public, les possibilités d’offres de projets jeune public et pour un public familial, ainsi que de projets alternatifs et pluridisciplinaires ont servi de base à la réflexion pour une deuxième phase, définitive, du chantier. Sur ces réflexions un concept général a été formulé qui intègre la réhabilitation de la Rotonde 2 et du parvis et tient compte des besoins d’optimisation du site (espaces de stockage, de restauration définitive, d’accueil,…). L’étude de faisabilité a été réalisée, et en 2020, le projet est entré dans une nouvelle étape dite d’avant-projet sommaire, qui devrait être finalisée fin 2021. 

Photo by Ruben Dos Santos 

Mar 28.12.2021
15:00 & 17:00
CURIEUSE NATURE / DROLEG NATUR
Rotondes & Luxembourg City Film Festival (LU)

Ciné-concert
À partir de 6 ans
Durée : 45’
Lieu : Grande Salle
Langue : Sans paroles

On trouve beaucoup de légèreté et d’ironie dans les trois courts métrages d’animation sélectionnés pour cette coproduction des Rotondes et du Luxembourg City Film Festival.

Dans une nature qui n’en finit pas d’impressionner, tou∙te∙s les protagonistes tissent de nouveaux liens d’amitié et déploient des trésors d’inventivité. Cette inventivité se reflète également dans l’univers musical construit de bric et de broc par Florence Kraus et Grégoire Terrier pour accompagner les images. Si les films à l’écran sont (presque) muets, l’ambiance dans la salle est exubérante !

« Klangvolles Erlebnis (…) Die Augen schwanken zwischen der Leinwand und den Musikern Florence Kraus und Grégoire Terrier hin und her, weil einfach beides sowohl mit der Sicht als auch mit dem Gehör genossen werden muss. »  Lëtzebuerger Journal, 07.03.2020

Plus d’informations et réservations sur: www.rotondes.lu

Situé dans un endroit discret de la petite rue du Saint Esprit, De Gudde Wëllen est un lieu  » à taille unique  » qui a ouvert ses portes en décembre 2014.
On y retrouve notamment Khruangbin, Fontaines D.C., The Soft Moon, Sophia, Moon Duo, Masta Ace, Busy P, TOPS, Sinkane, Operators, This Is The Kit et plus encore. Que vous préfériez les bières artisanales, les cocktails funky ou les spectacles indépendants savoureux, c’est le genre d’endroit qui vous incite à rester pour une autre tournée.

Mercredi – 15.12.21
VAAGUE (BE)
Concert- electro synth jazz

Portes: 20:00
Show:  21:00

Entouré de son androïde unique de batterie et d’électronique, Antoine Pierre élargit considérablement son spectre musical déjà très large avec VAAGUE.  

Pour ce tout nouveau projet solo, le batteur et producteur bruxellois a créé une collection de samples qui fusionnent de manière organique – et manuelle ! – avec ses propres grooves de batterie. Des synthés pulsés aux bribes de voix d’un autre monde, en passant par des gouttelettes de son sombres et rêveuses, chaque élément électronique se fond parfaitement dans les rythmes joués en direct par Antoine.

Réservations et informations sur : www.deguddewellen.lu

En 1964, le Kasemattentheater est fondé sous son nom officiel de « Centre Grand-Ducal d’Art Dramatique » a.s.b.l.. Au Luxembourg, où le théâtre était jusque-là plutôt endormi, le fondateur Tun Deutsch (1932-1977) a imaginé une création théâtrale d’avant-garde qui attirerait non seulement la bourgeoisie intéressée, mais aussi un tout nouveau public dans un nouveau lieu. Depuis la saison 2008/2009, le Kasemattentheater a développé une nouvelle dynamique et présente au public un programme de saison complet. Aujourd’hui plus que jamais, le Kasemattentheater se concentre sur des pièces en langue allemande, principalement modernes, sous la forme de productions innovantes.

Vendredi  17.12.2021
Carte Blanche MICHEL REIS

Concert
À 20h au Théâtre des Casemates

Le Théâtre des Casemates (Kasemattentheater) donne carte blanche au pianiste et compositeur de jazz Michel Reis (1982) pour une soirée cette année – juste avant Noël, avant que nos oreilles et nos cerveaux ne soient trop drogués par la musique de Noël. Michel Reis a étudié à Boston et a vécu à New York et maintenant surtout au Luxembourg (quand il ne participe pas à l’une de ses nombreuses tournées). Michel Reis a publié jusqu’à présent 12 albums sous son propre nom, au Luxembourg mais aussi sur des labels américains. Pour un jeune pianiste, il a reçu des éloges étonnants : « un pianiste formidable » (Down Beat), « un conteur d’histoires » (AllAboutJazz), « sa place dans le royaume 

des pianistes de jazz est assurée » (JazzReview), pourrait-on lire.  Le musicien aux multiples facettes, qui a souvent accompagné des lectures au Kasemattentheater, détermine le programme d’un concert unique, soutenu par des amis et des compagnons. Il pourra montrer toute la gamme de ses compétences créatives et musicales.

Cette soirée musicale est adaptée aux personnes aveugles et malvoyantes.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   Réservation: ticket@kasemattentheater.lu                                                                                                                                                                                                                   www.kasemattentheater.lu

Partagez cet article

Partager sur facebook
Partager sur twitter
Partager sur google
Partager sur linkedin
Partager sur email