Rotondes – De Gudde Wëllen – Kasemattentheater

Every month we present you 3 of our cultural partners.
The shows we announce here are always from the following month and accessible with your Kulturpass.

As their name suggests, the Rotondes are two circular buildings. With a diameter of 52 metres each, they were built in 1875 as a shed and workshop for steam locomotives. They then had several lives... 

After the 2World War, the Rotondes were used as storage space (Rotunda 1) and as a repair shop for CFL buses (Rotunda 2). Many years later, on the 10the October 2006, the last bus left Rotondes 2, which was quickly brought into line with what was to become, two months later, the epicentre 

of Luxembourg and Greater Region European Capital of Culture 2007.Throughout 2007, cultural events organised by the General Coordination bring the Rotondes to life and constitute a first successful attempt at their new use.

The evolution of the cultural programming of RotondesThe public's demand, the possibilities of offering projects for young audiences and families, as well as alternative and multidisciplinary projects, served as a basis for reflection for a second, definitive phase of the project. Based on these considerations, a general concept was formulated which integrates the rehabilitation of Rotonde 2 and the forecourt and takes into account the needs for optimisation of the site (storage areas, final restoration, reception, etc.). The feasibility study was carried out, and in 2020 the project entered a new stage known as the preliminary design stage, which should be completed by the end of 2021. 

Photo by Ruben Dos Santos 

Mar 28.12.2021
15:00 & 17:00
CURIEUSE NATURE / DROLEG NATUR
Rotondes & Luxembourg City Film Festival (LU)

Cine-concert
From 6 years on
Duration : 45’
Space: Grande Salle
Language: wordless

There is a lot of lightness and irony in the three animated shorts selected for this co-production of Les Rotondes and the Luxembourg City Film Festival.

In a nature that never ceases to impress, tou∙te∙s protagonists forge new bonds of friendship and deploy treasures of inventiveness. This inventiveness is also reflected in the musical universe constructed from bits and pieces by Florence Kraus and Grégoire Terrier to accompany the images. If the films on the screen are (almost) silent, the atmosphere in the room is exuberant!

« Klangvolles Erlebnis (…) Die Augen schwanken zwischen der Leinwand und den Musikern Florence Kraus und Grégoire Terrier hin und her, weil einfach beides sowohl mit der Sicht als auch mit dem Gehör genossen werden muss. »  Lëtzebuerger Journal, 07.03.2020

More information and reservations on: www.rotondes.lu

Located in a discrete spot of the small-scale rue du Saint Esprit, De Gudde Wëllen is a 'one size fits all' venue that opened its doors in December 2014.
Some of the highlights included Khruangbin, Fontaines D.C., The Soft Moon, Sophia, Moon Duo, Masta Ace, Busy P, TOPS, Sinkane, Operators, This Is The Kit and more. Whether you favor craft brews, funky cocktails or tasty indie shows, this is the kind of place that begs you to stick for another round.

Wednsday the 15.12.2021
VAAGUE (BE)
Concert- electro synth jazz

Doors : 20:00
Show:  21:00

Surrounded by his own unique android of drums and electronics, Antoine Pierre is widening his already broad musical spectrum quite a bit with VAAGUE.  

For this brand new solo project, the Brussels based drummer and producer created a collection of samples to fuse organically — and manually! — with his own drum grooves. From pulsating synths over otherworldly vocal snippets to dark and dreamy droplets of sound: each electronic element is blending in perfectly with Antoine’s live played beats.

Bookings and information on : www.deguddewellen.lu

In 1964, the Kasemattentheater was founded under its official name "Centre Grand-Ducal d'Art Dramatique" a.s.b.l.. In Luxembourg, which until then had been rather sleepy in terms of theatre, the founder Tun Deutsch (1932-1977) envisioned an avant-garde theatrical creation that would attract not only the interested bourgeoisie, but a whole new audience in a new venue. Since the 2008/2009 season, the Kasemattentheater has developed a new dynamic and has since presented the public with a complete season programme. Today more than ever, the Kasemattentheater focuses on mostly modern, German-language plays in the form of innovative productions.

Friday 17.12.2021
Carte Blanche MICHEL REIS

Concert
At 8 pm at the Kasemattentheater

Le Théâtre des Casemates (Kasemattentheater) is giving the jazz pianist and composer Michel Reis (born 1982) a carte blanche for one evening this year - just before Christmas, before our ears and brains are all too drugged up with Christmas music. Michel Reis studied in Boston and lived in New York and now mostly in Luxembourg (when he is not on one of his numerous tours). Michel Reis has released 12 albums under his own name so far, in Luxembourg but also on American labels. For a young pianist, he has received astonishing praise: "a tremendous pianist" (Down Beat), "a storyteller" (AllAboutJazz), "his place in the realm of jazz pianists is assured" (JazzReview), one could read. 

The multifaceted musician, who has often accompanied readings in the Kasemattentheater, determines the programme for a unique concert, supported by friends and companions. He will be able to show the whole range of his creative and musical skills.

This musical evening is suitable for blind and visually impaired people. ticket@kasemattentheater.lu                                                                                                                                                                                                                   www.kasemattentheater.lu

Share this article

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on google
Share on linkedin
Share on email

Rotondes – De Gudde Wëllen – Kasemattentheater

Jeden Monat stellen wir Ihnen 3 unserer kulturellen Partner vor.
Die Aufführungen, die wir Ihnen hier ankündigen, sind immer vom nächsten Monat und mit Ihrem Kulturpass zugänglich.

Wie der Name schon sagt, handelt es sich bei den Rotondes um zwei runde Gebäude. Mit einem Durchmesser von jeweils 52 Metern wurden sie 1875 als Schuppen und Werkstatt für Dampflokomotiven errichtet. Danach erlebten sie mehrere Leben... 

Nach dem zweitenWeltkrieg wurden die Rotondes als Lagerraum (Rotonde 1) und als Reparaturwerkstatt für die Busse der CFL (Rotonde 2) genutzt. Viele Jahre später, am 10. Oktober 2006, verließ der letzte Bus die Rotonde 2. Diese wurde schnell auf den neuesten Stand gebracht, um sie in das zu integrieren, was zwei Monate später zum Epizentrum, 

der Europäische Kulturhauptstadt 2007 wurde.Während des gesamten Jahres 2007 erwecken kulturelle Veranstaltungen, die von der Generalkoordination organisiert werden, die Rotondes zum Leben und stellen einen ersten erfolgreichen Versuch ihrer neuen Nutzung dar.

Die Entwicklung des Kulturprogramms der RotondesDie Nachfrage des Publikums, die Angebotsmöglichkeiten für Projekte für junges Publikum und Familien sowie für alternative und multidisziplinäre Projekte dienten als Grundlage für die Überlegungen zu einer zweiten, endgültigen Phase der Baustelle. Auf diesen Überlegungen aufbauend wurde ein allgemeines Konzept formuliert, das die Sanierung der Rotonde 2 und des Vorplatzes einbezieht und den Optimierungsbedarf des Geländes berücksichtigt (Lagerflächen, endgültige Gastronomie, Empfangsbereich, ...). Die Machbarkeitsstudie wurde durchgeführt und 2020 trat das Projekt in eine neue Phase ein, die als Vorentwurf (avant-projet sommaire) bezeichnet wird und Ende 2021 abgeschlossen sein soll. 

Photo by Ruben Dos Santos 

Mar 28.12.2021
15:00 & 17:00
CURIEUSE NATURE / DROLEG NATUR
Rotondes & Luxembourg City Film Festival (LU)

Film-Konzert
ab 6 Jahren
Dauer : 45’
Ort: Grosser Saal
Sprache: ohne Text

Man findet viel Leichtigkeit und Ironie in den drei kurzen Animationsfilmen, die für diese Koproduktion von Les Rotondes und dem Luxembourg City Film Festival ausgewählt wurden.

In einer Umgebung, die uns immer wieder staunen lässt, zeigen die ProtagonistInnen großen Einfallsreichtum und knüpfen neue Freundschaften. Die stummen Bilder werden begleitet von dem vielseitigen, musikalischen Universum der Musiker Florence Kraus und Grégoire Terrier.

« Klangvolles Erlebnis (…) Die Augen schwanken zwischen der Leinwand und den Musikern Florence Kraus und Grégoire Terrier hin und her, weil einfach beides sowohl mit der Sicht als auch mit dem Gehör genossen werden muss. »  Lëtzebuerger Journal, 07.03.2020

Weitere Informationen und Buchungen unter: www.rotondes.lu

Es befindet sich an einem diskreten Ort in der kleinen Rue du Saint Esprit, De Gudde Wëllen ist ein Veranstaltungsort, der im Dezember 2014 seine Türen öffnete.
Einige der Highlights waren Khruangbin, Fontaines D.C., The Soft Moon, Sophia, Moon Duo, Masta Ace, Busy P, TOPS, Sinkane, Operators, This Is The Kit und viele mehr. Ganz gleich, ob Sie handwerklich gebraute Getränke, ausgefallene Cocktails oder schmackhafte Indie-Shows bevorzugen, dies ist die Art von Ort, die Sie dazu auffordert, für eine weitere Runde zu bleiben.

Mittwoch, den 15.12.2021
VAAGUE (BE)
Konzert - electro synth jazz

Türen: 20:00
Show:  21:00

Umgeben von seinem ganz eigenen Androiden aus Schlagzeug und Elektronik, erweitert Antoine Pierre mit VAAGUE sein ohnehin schon breites musikalisches Spektrum um ein Vielfaches.  

Für sein brandneues Soloprojekt hat der in Brüssel lebende Schlagzeuger und Produzent eine Sammlung von Samples zusammengestellt, die er organisch - und manuell! - mit seinen eigenen Drum-Grooves. Von pulsierenden Synthesizern über jenseitige Vocal-Snippets bis hin zu dunklen und verträumten Klangtröpfchen: Jedes elektronische Element fügt sich perfekt in Antoines live gespielte Beats ein.

Reservierungen und Informationen auf : www.deguddewellen.lu

1964 wurde das Kasemattentheater unter seinem offiziellen Namen "Centre Grand-Ducal d'Art Dramatique" a.s.b.l gegründet. In dem bis dahin eher theaterverschlafenen Luxemburg der sechziger Jahre schwebte dem Gründer Tun Deutsch (1932-1977) ein avantgardistisches Theaterschaffen vor, das nicht nur die interessierte Bourgeoisie, sondern ein ganz neues Publikum in einer neuen Spielstätte anziehen sollte. Seit der Spielzeit 2008/2009 hat das Kasemattentheater eine neue Dynamik entwickelt und präsentiert dem Publikum seither ein komplettes Spielzeitprogramm. Das Kasemattentheater setzt heute mehr denn je auf, zumeist moderne, deutschsprachige Stücke in Form von innovativen Inszenierungen.

Freitag 17.12.2021
Carte Blanche MICHEL REIS

Konzert
Um 20 Uhr im Kasemattentheater

Le Théâtre des Casemates (Kasemattentheater) gibt dieses Jahr - kurz vor Weihnachten, bevor unsere Ohren und unser Gehirn allzu sehr mit Weihnachtsmusik zugedröhnt sind - dem Jazzpianisten und Komponisten Michel Reis (1982) für einen Abend eine Carte blanche. Michel Reis studierte in Boston und lebte in New York und jetzt zumeist in Luxemburg (wenn er nicht auf einer seiner zahlreichen Tourneen unterwegs ist). Michel Reis hat bisher 12 Alben unter seinem Namen herausgebracht, in Luxemburg aber auch bei amerikanischen Labels. Für einen jungen Pianisten bekam er erstaunliches Lob: „a tremendous pianist“ (Down Beat), „a storyteller“ (AllAboutJazz), „his place in the realm of jazz pianists is assured“ (JazzReview), konnte man lesen. 

Der vielfältige Musiker, der schon öfters Lesungen im Kasemattentheater begleitet hat, bestimmt für ein einmaliges Konzert das Programm, unterstützt von Freunden und Wegbegleitern. Dabei kann er die ganze Bandbreite seines Schaffens und musikalischen Könnens zeigen.

Dieser musikalische Abend ist für Blinde und Menschen mit Sehbehinderung geeignet. ticket@kasemattentheater.lu                                                                                                                                                                                                                   www.kasemattentheater.lu

Teile diesen Artikel

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on google
Share on linkedin
Share on email