Cultural Mediation

Definition of cultural mediation

“At the junction of the cultural and the social, cultural mediation deploys intervention strategies - activities and projects - which promote, within the framework of artistic and heritage institutions, municipal services or community groups, the meeting of publics with a diversity of experiences. Between cultural democratization and cultural democracy, cultural mediation combines several objectives: giving access to and making culture accessible to the widest audiences, promoting the diversity of expressions and forms of creation, encouraging citizen participation, promoting the building of connections within communities, contributing to the personal development of individuals and the development of a sense of community. "

Source: LEXIQUE – La médiation culturelle et ses mots-clés - Culturepourtous.ca

Role of cultural mediation within Cultur’all

The role of the Kulturpass is mainly to lift the financial barrier in access to culture, but this solution, however interesting, is not enough on its own.
That is why Cultur’all also aims to raise awareness among citizens and political and social actors about the benefits of culture and the various barriers encountered by Kulturpass beneficiaries. Likewise, Cultur’all wants to break down the barriers that separate people from cultural creations, not only among its beneficiaries, but in the general population. Arts and culture still seem to be reserved for an elite, yet they surround us, shape our reality, and are a form of expression of the living. Culture is us.

Participatory methodology and educational tools

Since 2018, the association Cultur’all has developed a new lever to support socio-cultural mediation work that primarily targets Kulturpass partners. This work is done through meetings between different actors. During these meetings, participatory and creative working methods are used to encourage participants to express themselves and freely exchange ideas. Each new meeting with social partners gave rise to unexpected and playful discoveries, and to moments full of emotions. Through this approach, Cultur'all hopes to bring about a stronger commitment from the partners and generate a real multiplier effect for the project.

Expansion and diversification of the network of partners

One of Cultur’all's missions is to create a network that promotes culture and the arts among a vulnerable target audience. Cultur’all has set up more than 120 agreements with cultural structures and structures with a social vocation. Aware of the fact that social structures are essential "vectors" and multipliers of the ethics of the Kulturpass project, Cultur'all organizes meetings between cultural actors and social actors.

  • Agreement with the Zentrum fir politesch Bildung (ZpB). It is a "foundation which aims to promote citizenship through a better understanding of democracy and current societal challenges". It encourages "children and young people in particular as well as the general population to participate in life and in political debates". This partnership is part of a much broader vision of the role that the Kulturpass can play.
  • Cultural partnership with the Senior Clubs of the Help network which offer a vast program of cultural activities.
  • Partnership with the Upper Sûre Nature Park. In relationship with nature and with the idea of deconstructing the concept of art and culture, Cultur’all has entered into a partnership with the Upper Sûre Nature Park. At first the idea was to promote the artistic events they organize. In a broader sense, the aim is also to promote our natural and cultural heritage.

Working together with youth organizations

  • Partnership with the National Youth Service (SNJ) This partnership allows the eleven Local Youth Offices (ALJ) (www.alj.lu) to issue the Kulturpass to the young people they support and who are in need.
  • Reminder action and dialogues with high schools via the Psychosocial and Scholastic Assistance Service (SePAS), and distribution of leaflets and posters in all high schools to remind people of the existence of the Kulturpass.
  • Participation in a meeting organized by the Department for the Coordination of Educational and Technological Research and Innovation (SCRIPT). The SCRIPT supports the cultural coordinators of 19 high schools and has planned this meeting so that the coordinators and representatives of the local cultural centers (RESEAU) can discuss their collaboration. This was a good opportunity to talk about the Kulturpass again and to remind the coordinators that the SePAS of their respective schools can issue this pass.
  • Organization of a musical rally to educate children about classical music.
  • Participation in cultural events for young people also prompted Cultur’all to rethink the concept of its stands. The association has therefore developed and refined a game inspired by Monopoly called "Luxopoly". This game is used to raise awareness among young and old about the cost of living in Luxembourg and the importance of the Kulturpass in allowing access to cultural activities.

Luxopoly, développé par l’équipe Cultur’all

Kulturvermittlung

Definition von Kulturvermittlung

"An der Schnittstelle zwischen dem Kulturellen und dem Sozialen setzt die Kulturvermittlung Interventionsstrategien - Aktivitäten und Projekte - ein, die im Rahmen von Kunst- und Kulturerbe-Institutionen, kommunalen Diensten oder Gemeinschaftsgruppen die Begegnung des Publikums mit einer Vielfalt von Erfahrungen fördern. Zwischen Demokratisierung und kultureller Demokratie verbindet die Kulturvermittlung mehrere Ziele: Zugang zu ermöglichen und Kultur einem möglichst breiten Publikum zugänglich zu machen, die Vielfalt der Ausdrucksformen und des Schaffens zu fördern, die Bürgerbeteiligung zu ermutigen, den Aufbau von Verbindungen innerhalb von Gemeinschaften zu unterstützen und zur persönlichen Entfaltung des Einzelnen und zur Entwicklung eines Gemeinschaftsgefühls beizutragen.»

Quelle: LEXICO - Kulturvermittlung und ihre Schlüsselwörter - Culturepourtous.ca

Rolle der Kulturvermittlung innerhalb von Cultur'all

Die Rolle des Kulturpasses besteht hauptsächlich darin, die finanzielle Barriere für den Zugang zur Kultur zu beseitigen, aber diese Lösung, so interessant sie auch sein mag, reicht allein nicht aus.
Deshalb will Cultur'all auch die Bürger und die politischen und gesellschaftlichen Akteure für den Nutzen der Kultur und die verschiedenen Hindernisse sensibilisieren, auf die die Kulturpass-Empfänger stoßen. Auf die gleiche Weise möchte Cultur'all die Barrieren abbauen, die Menschen von kulturellen Schöpfungen trennen, nicht nur bei den Begünstigten, sondern auch bei der Bevölkerung. Kunst und Kultur scheinen immer noch einer Elite vorbehalten zu sein, dabei umgeben sie uns, prägen unsere Wirklichkeit und sind eine Ausdrucksform des Lebendigen. Kultur sind wir.

Partizipative Methodik und pädagogische Werkzeuge

Seit 2018 hat sich Cultur'all neue Methoden angeeignet, um eine soziokulturelle Vermittlungsarbeit zu unterstützen, die sich vor allem an die Partner des Kulturpasses richtet. Diese Arbeit wird durch Treffen zwischen verschiedenen Akteuren durchgeführt. Während dieser Treffen werden partizipative und kreative Arbeitsmethoden eingesetzt, um die Teilnehmer zu ermutigen, sich auszudrücken und Ideen frei auszutauschen. Jedes neue Treffen mit den Sozialpartnern hat zu unerwarteten und spielerischen Entdeckungen und zu emotionsreichen Momenten geführt. Durch diesen Ansatz hofft Cultur'all, ein stärkeres Engagement der Partner zu fördern und einen echten Multiplikatoreffekt für das Projekt zu erzeugen.

Vergrößerung und Diversifizierung des Partnernetzwerks

Eine der Missionen von Cultur'all ist es, ein Netzwerk zu schaffen, das sich für die Förderung von Kultur und Kunst bei einer gefährdeten Zielgruppe einsetzt. Cultur'all hat mehr als 120 Vereinbarungen mit kulturellen und sozialen Strukturen abgeschlossen. Im Bewusstsein der Tatsache, dass soziale Strukturen wesentliche "Vektoren" und Multiplikatoren zur Verbreitung des Kulturpass-Projekts sind, organisiert Cultur'all Treffen zwischen kulturellen und sozialen Akteuren.

  • Vereinbarung mit dem Zentrum fir politesch Bildung (ZpB): Dies ist eine "Stiftung, die darauf abzielt, die Bürgerschaft durch ein besseres Verständnis der Demokratie und aktueller gesellschaftlicher Herausforderungen zu fördern". Sie ermutigt "Kinder und Jugendliche im Besonderen sowie die Bevölkerung im Allgemeinen, sich am politischen Leben und an Debatten zu beteiligen". Diese Partnerschaft ist Teil einer viel umfassenderen Vision der Rolle, die der Kulturpass spielen kann.
  • Kulturpartnerschaft mit den Seniorenclubs des Help-Netzwerks, die ein umfangreiches Programm an kulturellen Aktivitäten anbieten.
  • Partnerschaft mit dem Naturpark Öewersauer Immer in Kontakt mit der Natur und mit der Idee, das Konzept von Kunst und Kultur zu dekonstruieren, ist Cultur'all eine Partnerschaft mit dem Naturpark Öewersauer eingegangen. Diese Partnerschaft begann mit den von ihr organisierten künstlerischen Veranstaltungen. Die Idee ist auch, das natürliche und kulturelle Erbe zu fördern.

Jugendorganisationen zusammenbringen

  • Engere Zusammenarbeit mit Jugendorganisationen: Partnerschaft mit dem Service National de la Jeunesse (SNJ). Diese Partnerschaft ermöglicht es den elf lokalen Jugendämtern (ALJ) (www.alj.lu), den Kulturpass an die von ihnen betreuten und bedürftigen jungen Menschen zu vermitteln.
  • Erinnerungsaktion und Dialog mit den Gymnasien über die psychosozialen und schulischen Unterstützungsdienste (SePAS) und Verteilung von Flugblättern und Plakaten in allen Gymnasien, um sie an die Existenz des Kulturpasses zu erinnern.
  • Teilnahme an einem vom Service de Coordination de la Recherche et de l'Innovation pédagogiques et technologiques (SCRIPT) organisierten Treffen. SCRIPT begleitet die Kulturkoordinatoren von 19 Gymnasien und hat dieses Treffen geplant, damit sich die Koordinatoren und Vertreter der dezentralen Kulturzentren (RESEAU) über ihre Zusammenarbeit austauschen können. Dies war eine gute Gelegenheit, noch einmal über den Kulturpass zu sprechen und die Koordinatoren daran zu erinnern, dass die SePAS ihren jeweiligen Schulen diesen Pass ausstellen können.
  • Organisation einer Musikrallye, um das Bewusstsein für klassische Musik bei Kindern zu wecken.
  • Die Teilnahme an kulturellen Veranstaltungen für junge Leute veranlasste Cultur'all auch, das Konzept seiner Stände zu überdenken. So hat der Verein ein von Monopoly inspiriertes Spiel namens "Luxopoly" entwickelt und verfeinert. Dieses Spiel dient der Sensibilisierung von Jung und Alt für die Lebenshaltungskosten in Luxemburg und die Bedeutung des Kulturpasses, um denjenigen, die keinen Zugang zum kulturellen Leben haben, die Teilnahme daran zu ermöglichen.

Luxopoly, entwickelt vom Cultur'all-Team Bild