Cultur'all a.s.b.l

In Luxembourg, a large part of the population does not have access to culture due to their precarious situation. Below you will find detailed information concerning poverty and income inequalities in Luxembourg.

As an example, note the following:

  • In 2018, the risk of poverty in Luxembourg was 18.3% and income inequality was 0.33 according to the Gini coefficient.* Poverty and inequality have increased irregularly over the years, with an upward trend over the past 15 years.
  • Isolated young people, foreigners, people with a low level of education, unemployed people, and single-parent families are more exposed to poverty
  • In 2018 10% of the population were in a situation of persistent poverty.
  • The illiteracy rate is between 7 and 9% (Ministry of National Education, 2014).
  • For nearly four out of five households, the financial burden associated with housing is worrying and increases if there are dependent children.

Given these figures about the precarious situation of many people in Luxembourg and the testimonies of people who are excluded from Luxembourg’s cultural life, Cultur’all will continue to commit to fighting these inequalities, and the obstacles associated with them.

The Kulturpass has more than ever a reason to exist!

Team

Luis Santiago
Cultural mediator - Manager of a.s.b.l.
Luis.santiago@culturall.lu
+ 352 621 430 602

Marianne David
communications and administration officer
Marianne.david@culturall.lu
+352 621 660 868

Members of the Board

Elisa Baiocchi, president
Joé Annicchiarico, vice-president
Anne Reding, treasurer
Nicolas van de Walle, secretary
Elvira Mittheis, administrator
Mélanie Petton, administrator
Mady Weber, administrator
Tassadit Cherfaoui, administrator

In May 2007, a seminar entitled “Cultural diversity and cultural rights – what for?” was organized by the Institut de formation sociale (IFS), in collaboration with various associations such as ATD Quart Monde, CLAE, Femmes en détresse, Stëmm vun der Strooss, and SeDoPI. People living in precariousness also participated in this seminar and shared their experience there.

Shortly afterwards, a working group was created with the ambition of taking up many points raised during the seminar and studying concrete avenues for developing a new cultural policy, more attentive to people who are remote from it, especially those who are economically disadvantaged or of foreign origin. Reflection work carried out in collaboration with Forum Culture(s) on the development of a Cultural Pact was submitted to the political parties ahead of the legislative elections in 2009.

A common text entitled “Diversity and cultural rights” was drafted. It offered various avenues, in particular that of creating a non-profit organization (a.s.b.l.) taking inspiration from the Belgian (Article 27) or Austrian (Hunger auf Kunst und Kultur) model.
The a.s.b.l. Cultur’all was born in December 2008 following the success of the conference “Museums: agents of social change and development”, which was held at the request of the Staater Muséeën and was co-organized by the working group.

The first concrete measure taken was the establishment and distribution of the Kulturpass in January 2010 to provide as many people as possible with easier access to cultural activities.

Between 2014 and 2019, 6,500 Kulturpasses were issued. Kulturpass beneficiaries bought about 19,000 tickets for € 1.50. On average, a Kulturpass holder used his or her pass three times for a cultural event presented by one of our 75 cultural partners.

In its Kulturentwécklungsplang 2018-2028, the Ministry of Culture recommends developing more specific and integration actions, including the Kulturpass.

The story continues.

Cultur’all works at several levels:

Raising awareness of the benefits of culture and the various obstacles encountered by Kulturpass beneficiaries, and creating an interconnected and dynamic network of cultural and social partners.

The association tries to develop different approaches depending on the objective pursued.

The a.s.b.l. Cultur’all has set itself the following missions:

  • sensitize society and political leaders to the provisions of Article 27.1 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights: “Everyone has the right freely to participate in the cultural life of the community, to enjoy the arts and to share in scientific advancement and its benefits”;
  • promote and facilitate – in particular through the Kulturpass ¬¬– access to all forms of culture for people who are remote from it, in particular those living in a difficult social and/or economic situation;
  • encourage the participation and contribution of all – in particular the most deprived and/or excluded people – in cultural life, not only as consumers, but also as actors;
  • promote cultural diversity as well as intersocial and intercultural dialogues;
  • promote cultural mediation and the development of synergies between the political, social and cultural fields.

Cultur’all believes that participation in cultural life, whether as an actor or as a consumer, is not only a right, but also an essential need for human development. No human being should be excluded from it for any reason. However, a large part of the population, whether they have a disability or are isolated, are from a minority culture or economically disadvantaged, do not yet enjoy this fundamental right.

However, respect for and the implementation of cultural rights are necessary conditions for the development of individual and collective capacities, cohesion and social justice. These rights have an important role to play in the fight against poverty and social exclusion.

In addition, culture is inseparable from identity. The particular demographic context of Luxembourg makes intercultural dialogue and the recognition of its particularities linked to immigration a fundamental necessity.
Culture, art and creation allow civilizations to meet, and showcase themselves. Cultural diversity must be considered an asset and be valued.

We are convinced that intersocial dialogue is an important aspect of intercultural dialogue. It is therefore a question of fostering encounters not only between people from different cultural origins, but also between people from different social backgrounds.

Cultur’all a.s.b.l. continues to sensitize partners as well as public authorities to this issue, hoping that one day resources will be released to reach all vulnerable people.

Support us!

Donating to Cultur’all is a way to promote diversity, inclusion, cohesion and social justice through culture.

From now on, the National Cultural Fund (FOCUNA) manages and processes donations made in favour of Cultur’all. If you want to support us, you can do so by following the link focuna.lu.

Become a member

If you want to support our work and participate in the development of Cultur’all a.s.b.l., you can become a member of our association for a fee of € 10 to be paid into our account:

IBAN : LU91 0019 2955 5485 4000
BIC : BCEELULL

Beneficiaries who wish to support us and receive a membership card can obtain it for € 1.

Become a volunteer

Si vous souhaitez soutenir Cultur’all à titre personnel, devenez bénévole. Nous sommes à la recherche de personnes qui souhaitent nous donner un coup de main. Avis aux amateurs ! veuillez npus contacter par mail : info@culturall.lu

Cultur'all a.s.b.l

Au Luxembourg, une grande partie de la population n’a pas accès à la culture en raison de sa situation précaire. Ci-dessous, vous trouverez des informations détaillées sur la pauvreté et les inégalités de revenus au Luxembourg.

À titre d’exemple, relevons les points suivants :

  • En 2018, le risque de pauvreté au Luxembourg s’élevait à 18,3 % et les inégalités de revenus se situaient à 0,33 selon le coefficient de Gini*. La pauvreté tout comme l’inégalité ont augmenté en dents de scie au cours des années, avec une tendance orientée à la hausse depuis 15 ans.
  • Les jeunes isolés, les étrangers, les personnes au niveau d’éducation faible, les chômeurs et les familles monoparentales sont plus exposés à la pauvreté.
  • 10 % de la population était en situation de pauvreté persistante en 2018.
  • Le taux d’analphabétisme se situe entre 7 et 9 % (Ministère de l’Education Nationale, 2014).
  • Pour près de quatre ménages sur cinq, la charge financière liée au logement est préoccupante et augmente s’il y a des enfants à charge.

Au vu de ces quelques chiffres révélant la situation précaire d’un grand nombre de personnes vivant au Luxembourg et des témoignages de personnes exclues ou éloignées de la vie culturelle, Cultur’all continue à s’engager afin de lutter contre ces inégalités et ces freins.

Le Kulturpass a plus que jamais sa raison d’exister !

Équipe

Luis Santiago
Médiateur culturel – Gestionnaire de l’a.s.b.l.
Luis.santiago@culturall.lu
+ 352 621 430 602

Marianne David
chargée de communication et d’administration
Marianne.david@culturall.lu
+352 621 660 868

Membres du conseil d’administration

Elisa Baiocchi, présidente
Joé Annicchiarico, vice-président
Anne Reding, trésorière
Nicolas van de Walle, secrétaire
Elvira Mittheis, administratrice
Mélanie Petton, administratrice
Mady Weber, administratrice

En mai 2007, un séminaire intitulé « Diversité culturelle et droits culturels – pour quoi faire ? » a été organisé par l’Institut de formation sociale (IFS), en collaboration avec différentes associations telles qu’ATD Quart Monde, CLAE, Femmes en détresse, Stëmm vun der Strooss et le SeDoPI. Des personnes vivant dans la précarité ont aussi participé à ce séminaire et y ont témoigné.

Peu de temps après, un groupe de travail a été créé avec l’ambition de reprendre de nombreux points abordés lors du séminaire et d’étudier des pistes concrètes pour développer une nouvelle politique culturelle, plus attentive aux personnes qui en sont éloignées, notamment celles qui sont économiquement défavorisées et d’origine étrangère. Un travail de réflexion mené en collaboration avec Forum Culture(s) sur l’élaboration d’un Pacte Culturel a été soumis aux partis politiques en amont des élections législatives de 2009.

Un texte commun intitulé « Diversité et droits culturels » a été rédigé. Il propose différentes voies, notamment celle de créer une a.s.b.l. en s’inspirant du modèle belge (article 27) ou autrichien (Hunger auf Kunst und Kultur).
L’a.s.b.l. Cultur’all a vu le jour en décembre 2008 dans le sillage du succès de la conférence « Musées : agents du changement social et du développement », qui s’est tenue à la demande des Staater Muséeën et a été coorganisée par le groupe de travail.

La première mesure concrète qui a été prise était la mise en place et la diffusion du Kulturpass en janvier 2010 afin d’offrir au plus grand nombre un accès plus facile à l’offre culturelle.

Entre 2014 et 2019, 6 500 Kulturpass ont été délivrés. Les bénéficiaires du 1 ont acheté quelque 19 000 tickets au tarif de 1,50 €. En moyenne, un détenteur du Kulturpass a utilisé son pass pour effectuer trois sorties culturelles auprès de nos 75 partenaires culturels.

Le Ministère de la Culture recommande dans son Kulturentwécklungsplang 2018-2028 de développer davantage d’actions spécifiques et d’intégration, dont le Kulturpass.

L’histoire continue

Cultur’all travaille à plusieurs niveaux :

La sensibilisation aux bienfaits de la culture et aux différents freins rencontrés par les bénéficiaires du Kulturpass ou encore la création d’un réseau interconnecté et dynamique entre partenaires culturels et sociaux.

L’association essaie de développer des approches différentes selon l’objectif poursuivi.

L’a.s.b.l. Cultur’all s’est fixé les missions suivantes :

  • sensibiliser la société et les responsables politiques aux dispositions de l’article 27.1 de la Déclaration universelle des droits de l’homme : « Toute personne a le droit de prendre part librement à la vie culturelle de la communauté, de jouir des arts et de participer au progrès scientifique et aux bienfaits qui en résultent »
  • promouvoir et faciliter l’accès à toute forme de culture à des personnes qui en sont éloignées, en particulier celles qui vivent dans une situation sociale et/ou économique difficile, notamment grâce au Kulturpass
  • encourager la participation et l’apport de tous – en particulier des personnes les plus démunies et/ou des personnes exclues – à la vie culturelle, non seulement en tant que consommateurs, mais aussi en tant qu’acteurs
  • promouvoir la diversité culturelle ainsi que les dialogues intersociaux et interculturels
  • promouvoir la médiation culturelle et le développement de synergies entre les domaines politique, social et culturel.

Cultur’all estime que la participation à la vie culturelle, que ce soit en tant qu’acteur ou consommateur, est non seulement un droit, mais également un besoin essentiel à l’épanouissement de l’homme. Nul être humain ne devrait en être écarté, pour quelque raison que ce soit. Or, une grande partie de la population, que ces personnes présentent un handicap ou qu’elles soient isolées, issues d’une culture minoritaire ou économiquement défavorisées, ne jouit pas encore de ce droit fondamental.

Pourtant, le respect et la mise en oeuvre des droits culturels sont des conditions nécessaires du développement des capacités individuelles et collectives, de la cohésion et de la justice sociale. Ces droits ont un rôle important à jouer dans la lutte contre la pauvreté et l’exclusion sociale.

En outre, la culture est indissociable de l’identité. Le contexte démographique particulier du Grand-Duché fait du dialogue interculturel et de la reconnaissance des particularités liées à l’immigration une nécessité fondamentale.
La culture, l’art et la création permettent la rencontre entre civilisations et leur mise en valeur. La diversité culturelle doit être considérée comme une richesse et être valorisée.

Nous sommes convaincus que le dialogue intersocial est un aspect important du dialogue interculturel. Il s’agit donc de favoriser la rencontre non seulement entre des personnes d’origines culturelles différentes, mais aussi entre des personnes issues de milieux sociaux différents.

Cultur’all a.s.b.l. continue à sensibiliser les partenaires ainsi que les pouvoirs publics à cette question, en espérant qu’un jour, des moyens soient dégagés pour toucher toutes les personnes précarisées.

Soutenez-nous

Faire un don à Cultur’all, c’est favoriser la diversité, l’inclusion, la cohésion et la justice sociale à travers la culture.

Dès à présent, le Fonds Culturel National Luxembourg (FOCUNA) gère et traite les dons réalisés en faveur de Cultur’all. Si vous souhaitez nous soutenir, vous pouvez le faire en suivant le lien focuna.lu.

Devenez membre

Si vous souhaitez soutenir notre travail et participer au développement de Cultur’all a.s.b.l., vous pouvez devenir membre de notre association moyennant une cotisation de 10 € à verser sur notre compte :

IBAN : LU91 0019 2955 5485 4000
BIC : BCEELULL

Les bénéficiaires qui désirent nous soutenir et recevoir une carte de membre peuvent l’obtenir au prix de 1 €.

Devenez bénévole

Si vous souhaitez soutenir Cultur’all à titre personnel, devenez bénévole. Nous sommes à la recherche de personnes qui souhaitent nous donner un coup de main pendant la période du 15 septembre au 15 octobre 2020 à l’occasion du dixième anniversaire du Kulturpass. Avis aux amateurs ! veuillez npus contacter par mail : info@culturall.lu